pasteray.blogg.se

Books by rick riordan for kids
Books by rick riordan for kids














I had a lot to do already, but I somehow found the time to write the first Percy Jackson book over the next year. It took about three nights to tell the whole story, and when I was done, Haley told me I should write it out as a book. Off the top of my head, I made up Percy Jackson and told Haley all about his quest to recover Zeus’ lightning bolt in modern day America. Then I remembered a creative writing project I used to do with my sixth graders - I would let them create their own demigod hero, the son or daughter of any god they wanted, and have them describe a Greek-style quest for that hero. When I ran out of myths, he was disappointed and asked me if I could make up something new with the same characters. I had taught Greek myths for many years at the middle school level, so I was glad to comply. My son Haley asked me to tell him some bedtime stories about the Greek gods and heroes. Where did you get the idea for Percy Jackson?.To find out more about Percy Jackson - visit A Q AND A WITH RICK RIORDAN He lives in San Antonio with his wife and two sons.

#BOOKS BY RICK RIORDAN FOR KIDS SERIES#

The third title, The Titan’s Curse, made the series a #1 New York Times bestseller, and the most recent title, The Battle of the Labyrinth, had a first printing of one million copies. The Sea of Monsters was a Child Magazine Best Book for Children for 2006 and a Publishers Weekly and BookSense national bestseller. Film rights were purchased by Twentieth Century Fox and a feature film version was released in 2010. The Lightning Thief was a New York Times Notable Book for 2005 and winner of the Red House Children's Book Award 2006. His Percy Jackson series features a twelve-year-old dyslexic boy who discovers he is the modern-day son of a Greek god.

books by rick riordan for kids

His short fiction has appeared in Mary Higgins Clark Mystery Magazine and Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine. His adult fiction has won the top three national awards in the mystery genre – the Edgar, the Anthony and the Shamus. In 2002, Saint Mary’s Hall honored him with the school’s first Master Teacher Award. Rick Riordan is also the author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series for children and the multi-award-winning Tres Navarre mystery series for adults.įor fifteen years, Rick taught English and history at public and private middle schools in the San Francisco Bay Area and in Texas, USA. Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief, Rick's first novel featuring the heroic young demigod, was the overall winner of the Red House Children's Book Award in 2006 and is now a blockbuster film franchise, starring Logan Lerman. He lives in Boston with his wife and two sons. Rick Riordan is an award-winning mystery writer.














Books by rick riordan for kids